Suddenly Single… Minded

Welcome to the Wild and Whimsical World of Internet Dating

Archive for the day “May 17, 2017”

friends jealous of your success in love?

mnms_14e9535-2

Dear Page Larkin,
I have been a fan of your column for over five years. Thanks to you, I got back in the dating game and followed your guidelines. Slowly but surely, I started having the time of my romance life.
At first, I did that cafeteria dating, I just picked what “looked good.” Eventually, I got serious. I’ve met some very interesting, wonderful guys.

Two years ago, I met the love of my life, thanks to following your tips.
My problem is this: three people at work watched me and noticed my success- and want me to teach them everything I know.
Naturally, I told them to read your column. None of them have done so, they want me to do the heavy lifting for them: write their profiles, do the research and help them. They are like Cling-ons. Yuck. Right now I’m in the world of romance, I have no interest helping them. What do you think?
Madly in love in Milpitas

Dear Madly in love in Milpitas,
What great news! So glad you found the love of your life. It happens! Everyday…
With regards to your ”friends”- you were very wise to step aside and step away.
It takes energy, drive, time and conviction to get back in the dating game.
You are correct, they need to do the heavy lifting. Why not suggest they sign sign up for my Dating 101 Workshop? The four- hour workshop is a swift kickstart for singles who want to enter the wide world of dating – and may be shy or reluctant.

Contact me: Page.larkin@gmail.com

image0

 

 

Confused Single Men & a Few Good Women?

The Manly Men Confused by a Really Good Thing….

Suddenly Single... Minded

photo_21444_20120211

This week’s mail brought letters about Single Guys who don’t know how good they have it.

Dear Page Larkin,

Help! Our brother (divorced, 59, executive, thinks he is a ladies man) drives us crazy. In the last five years we watched him date, Dumb and Dumber, Clueless, The Jerk, and Tammy.

He recently met a very nice woman- about his age, successful, smart, and fun; everyone likes her. She has her own company; and what she sees our brother, we don’t know.

However, they’ve been dating for a few months-and he just started complaining that she left a couple of things at his house. The guy went ape over a water bottle! How do I tell my brother he’s darn lucky to be dating this Perfect 10?

Concerned Sister in Los Gatos.

Dear Concerned Sister Los Gatos,

You’re a good sister to care so much. ItIs sounds like…

View original post 419 more words

Dan Rather: Beacon of Logic and Light

lead_960Esteemed American journalist and the former news anchor for the CBS Evening News, Dan Rather, posted this on his Facebook Page

May 16, 2017
Dan Rather
2 hrs ·
I end each of my days with a silent prayer for my country. It has been a ritual for some time, but as of late I feel an anxiety gripping my heart and a sadness permeating my soul that seems unlike anything I have felt before.

I hope against hope as I slip off to sleep that our rapid descent into governmental chaos has hit a nadir – only to awaken to a new set of incoherent tweets or explosive headlines from top-notch reporters. And with that, we are falling once again. As I fall, we fall, even further, I pray again that our Constitutional government, the great gift of our Founding Fathers, will provide a safety net to catch us before everything we hold dear is no more. I believe that is the case, but the slowly rising level of uncertainty is not to be ignored.

I see recklessness where we need leadership… and I am deeply saddened.
I see politicians putting power and politics over principle… and I am incredulous.
I see lies treated as truths… and I am disgusted.
I see justice denied and likely obstructed…. and I am fearful.
I see norms flaunted… and I am angry.
I see global challenges going unaddressed… and I am worried.
I see the press under attack… and I am furious.
I see this, and more, so much more… and I am exhausted.

I find myself returning in my mind to dark days from the past, trying to remember how we as a nation felt, when Pearl Harbor was attacked, when Kennedy was shot, when Watergate took down a President, when terrorists rained terror from the skies. We somehow overcame.

And I do believe that we shall overcome, someday. Perhaps, hopefully, someday soon.

But in the end, prayer will not be enough. Action, sustained action, will be required.

Dan Rather

Post Navigation