Suddenly Single… Minded

Welcome to the Wild and Whimsical World of Internet Dating

Help! I am drowning in a sea of text messages

Spelling Game tiles spell out Help Me
Today brings two classic letters from male readers who are baffled and the flummoxed by women…

How can I miss you – if you won’t go away?

Dear Page,

I met a woman at a bar in Dogpatch and we hit it off. I had a trip to New York the next day – we agreed to be in touch.   She sent me a text the next morning – it was very cool.

Now a week later, every day, she sends me text messages- up to four everyday. I’m drowning here. I’m losing interest as fast as she sends these messages. How does a guy say politely, “Back off?” And, no, I do not reply to each text.

Non-text Texan.

Dear Non-text Texan,

I have received dozens of e-mails/text with the same complaint. From both men and women.

For some texting is a toy and they can’t put it down. For others, who can’t “self-edit” it’s a vehicle to spew every thought, quip, witticisms (or half witticisms.)

If Emily Post were around today, and a modicum of etiquette existed online, there would be hard and fast rules about deluge texting. Here are two steps to consider:

Step #1. Not responding. Step #2. Send a quick text indicating lack of interest and, or a busy schedule and wish them well. Buh Bye.

Peace,

Page

dead-end-777__180

Stop with the Selfies, Already

Ms. Larkin,

I was married for 24 years before I entered Suddenly Single in San Francisco world. Call me old-fashioned, but when did women get so aggressive?

I had a pleasant lunch date- with a woman who seemed a little edgy- but, attractive.

The next day, she sent me a text inviting me to play golf with her… she followed that up with a barrage of suggestive innuendo. Really?

Then, she sent me pictures of herself – multiple pictures of herself. (enclosed)

Yesterday, she wrote, “What do I have to do to get your attention?”

What happened to ‘the guy calls the girl?’ I am so turned off by this aggressive behavior.

Evidently,

A caveman

sad man

Dear A caveman,

Yes, the times they are a changin’

Have heart, for as many outspoken and aggressive women there are out there- there are as many well-behaved, well-educated, well-heeled women just waiting for you.

Now that you have met a classic “ Go-getter,” (politely said) you know what to avoid. Have fun! It can only get better.

Peace,

Page

fabric-685253__180

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

