Suddenly Single… Minded

Welcome to the Wild and Whimsical World of Internet Dating

The naked truth – clothing optional?

photo_6031_20080519 Shelly K in San Francisco shared her latest “Dating at 50+ escapade”

Dear Page Larkin,

After six months of great dates, Peter and I concluded we were good for ‘the moment’ however, we had no future.

 Okay, I concluded: we had no future.

Peter was smart, successful and spontaneous, He had a never ending supply of ideas for really unique dates: we took beginner tango lesson, saw Peter Max at the De Young, walked across the Golden Gate Bridge, had his/hers massages at the Kabuki, we went to see Calvin Trillin and Ruth Reichl  at the Herbst Theater, had SRO tickets for the San Francisco Symphony. There were gourmet picnics in Marin, we went wine tasting in St Helena and discovered the famous and eclectic,  Layla Fanucci and her art gallery and winery – double winner.

The Naked Truth: He had HAI hopes – I had low expectations

 What’s HAI? HAI It has  nothing to do with the Helicopter Assn. International. The Internet has one definition – then again, so does Peter. I call it: Naked Workshops. He calls them human awareness classes…exercises… workshops. Whatever. The deal is, clothes are optional and not appreciated.

Why waste time?

 I design a line of women’s clothing. Clothes are my passion. And, as much fun as we enjoyed, I am not a fan of wearing my birthday suit around total strangers and Peter – doesn’t have that problem. For that reason, and a few others differences, I decided to end our romantic liaison and graduate to ‘”just friends”.

Clever me, I penned a sweet email – alluding to our relationship being like a glass of champagne: bubbles are fun, lively, entertaining and, in time, they disappear. He called to say he loved my email and didn’t ‘get’ the one line about “All good things must come to an end– let’s move on – fini compleat. Thank you.”

So, I compiled a CD of The Best Breakup Songs ever made – a clear, hard-hitting message- all along the lines of ‘Breaking up is hard to do.”

He called and asked if I had sent him a “Dear John CD.” Prescient. Keeping in line with the separation motif- I stopped returning his calls.

Big Clue

When I saw his profile back up on Match.com ~ I knew we both had come to the same conclusion – just at different times.

Next!

Love,

Shelly K

dead-44155__180

The Irony of WordPressOh, The Irony

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

