Suddenly Single… Minded

Welcome to the Wild and Whimsical World of Internet Dating

Dating 101: Google the Guy First

photo_21523_20120317
You do the math.

I’ll be the first to admit: math is not my strong suit.
I don’t write down every check in a ledger and I around off all
my numbers- it’s easier.

I can conjugate any verb in three languages. My participles never dangle, and I will never use a double negative. I studied linguistics and Romance Languages and have a few degrees. None in math.

It was my best friend, Becky, who said those three words that started the beginning of the end of my romance with Marc.

I met Marc on Dateme.com. He was a filmmaker, inventor, skier, chef and jazz pianist. We were both 50 something from the Midwest. He was polite, attentive, and free to travel. He had a varied and colorful career and was a talented storyteller.

He attended two Ivy League schools and Cal and had a veritable alphabet soup of miscellaneous degrees after his name. He mentioned Patents and some copyrights- all this fell on deaf ears.

I was swept up in a blizzard of bliss and didn’t read any fine print.

valentines-flash-box-990Our rapid romance was both very fun and also somewhat unsettling.

As much as I liked Marc, and I did, there was something awry. Remember the fable about the Princess and the Pea? I couldn’t put my finger on it. There was something – was it too good, or too much?

Then my best friend in the whole world, Becky, asked me a simple question -she asked me about Marc’s accomplishments.

Blithely, I recounted a number of his degrees and the schools he told me he attended .   She looked at me quizzically and said, “This guy is 50  and has done all that?”  I nodded ‘yes’, and she said those three hated words:  “Do the math.”

Incredulous, I counted backwards and realize that a PhD., two masters degrees, an MBA and a BA and 25 year career as an engineer as well as inventor, chef in Aspen, competitive skier and jazz pianist might not quite add up.

I began to scribble on the paper napkin. Well, I mused, he was an over achiever.

And he was always busy and friends all over the world. And I assumed he was telling the truth

Then Becky asked me if  had I Googled Marc, it never dawned on me to Google him.

We had met on line and I thought I did due diligence in asking all the right questions. He was the consummate gentleman and the whole Google process had escaped me.   She said “Google the guy.”

Needless to say, I went right home and Googled Marc G******. Guess how many Marc G******* there are? How many hits Google has for Marc G******? Evidently this is a very common name in the United States and the world.

My friend Diana came over that night and helped me do an advanced Google search. She’s part Nancy Drew, very much a Ph.D. in Research and Development, and a dedicated friend. Within minutes. She came up with my Marc, on the Mark.

T.M.I.?  In Date World there is no such thing…

So I Googled the Guy – and punctuated that chapter in my life with a definitive

Adios, hasta la vista, so long, au revoir.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Bernie Madoff lives  on ~~~
Or
Ponzi or Pansy?

sad-man

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

