Suddenly Single… Minded

Welcome to the Wild and Whimsical World of Internet Dating

Weight, weight – Don’t ask me my W.A.I.F.

Wait, Wait …Don’t Tell Me is a funny, fast-paced, NPR radio show.  It’s full of clever questions and glib answers and quizzical conundrums. Some think today’s online dating draws a close parallel to reality/game shows; both involve a barrage of  in-your-face-personal questions.

Oh! The Questions They Ask!

The initial, very personal, online dating questions are called the ” The WAIF” (Weight, Age, Income, Faith) Questions.

Check Me Out, Please

Imagine a poor little Match.com girl sitting at a café reading People magazine ( or the Economist)   and a handsome stranger (RU4real) stops and says, “Hey, cutie, how old are you?  How much do you weigh?      What’s your annual income?    And, tell me, what do you believe in?”

In the Twilight Zone of online-dating-world she would reply, “Hey. I’m 121 lbs, 52, to be disclosed later, Spiritual. And, you?”

He, in turn, winks and says, “Babe, I’m about 210 lbs, 55, income: $50,000 -$150,000.  I’m a Jew Bu  – Jew-ish and Buddhist”.

She muses and calculates. Then, with a wandering eye, she spies a guy more her “size” says, “Au revoir” to “RU4real.” Voila, she disappears from sight.

She may approach the next guy, one table over. She asks about his “W.A.I.F.”  Although he looks shorter and stouter, he says, “I’m around 180 lbs, 55, stocky but, an ex jock, income $75,000-$150,000, Agnostic; I love cigars and snuggling and I’ve read the Da Vinci Code.”  Woefully she says, “Too bad; I only read New York Times bestsellers, I’m a triathlete, and, God, I hate smoking. Buh-bye”.

And so it goes, like a flippin’ ball in a pinball machine.      Can we streamline this game to a win-win?

Wavering on the WAIF

Despite my thirty years of research into the feminine soul, I have not been able to answer… the great question that has never been answered: what does a woman want? Sigmund Freud

Well, Siggie, perhaps, just like a man: women don’t want to be asked age, weight, personal spiritual beliefs and income  details before actually meeting a person.

Call me.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Weight, weight – Don’t ask me my W.A.I.F.

  1. Pingback: Deja vu all over again? Dating today and Yogi Berra | Suddenly Single... Minded

Leave a Reply

